Mike Krzyzewski to retire: how long Coach K has been at Duke and more in numbers

Mike Krzyzewski to retire: how long Coach K has been at Duke and more in numbers

When Duke’s basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski retires at the end of the coming season, he will do so as one of the most accomplished coaches in NCAA history.

No one has won more matches. Only one coach has won more national championships. He’s tied for most Coach of the Year honors at Naismith College.

He is already a member of the Basketball and College Basketball Hall of Fame.

AFTER: What to know about Mike Krzyzewski’s potential replacement at Duke

We take a look at the numbers behind Krzyzewski’s legendary career.

47 years of training

Krzyzewski is a 46-year-old NCAA basketball coach, but with news that the 2021-22 campaign will be his last, he will retire after leading a program for 47 years.

Few coaches can match that number. Phog Allen has coached the most seasons, having started coaching in 1905 with Baker and completed his 50th coaching season in 1956 with Kansas. Jim Phelan took over as head coach at Mount St. Mary’s in 1954 after one year as an assistant and remained head coach for 49 years.

The following ? Well, it’s Krzyzewski. He’s been at Duke for 41 years – on the verge of turning 42 – and he’s spent the last five years coaching in his alma mater Army. This followed a one-year assistant coaching position under the direction of his former head coach Bob Knight.

1,170 coaching victories

The number will change by the end of the year, but for now, his current win tally is 1,170.

In 2016, he became the most victorious coach in the NCAA tournament with his 90th victory in March Madness. In 2017, he claimed his 1,000th victory to become the first Division I men’s coach to reach four figures. The following year, he passed Pat Summit for the most wins by a Division I coach. In 2019, he passed Harry Statham to claim the title of most wins by a college basketball coach. of any level or gender.

He combined these victories with remarkable regularity. Since joining Duke in 1980, he has won at least 20 games in 35 of his 41 seasons. He has reached 30 wins in 13 of those seasons.

However, his all-time winning tally could potentially be in jeopardy at some point. Herb Magee, the current Division II men’s basketball coach at Thomas Jefferson University, has 1,123 wins. Stanford women’s basketball coach Tara VanDerveer has just won the national championship and has 1,125 career wins while UConn’s women’s coach Geno Auriemma has 1,119 wins and just signed an overtime for keep him at the head of the Huskies.

But the only active Men’s Division I coach close to Krzyzewski is Jim Boeheim of Syracuse, who has 982 wins.

5 national championships

The regular season wins are great, but the coaches stick around largely for their ability to bring new banners to the rafters. And only John Wooden of UCLA has won more NCAA titles in his program.

While coaching the Blue Devils, Duke was crowned national champion five times: 1991, 1992, 2001, 2010 and 2015. Back-to-back championships have made him the fifth coach to chain titles in consecutive years. Wooden holds the record for seven consecutive wins from 1967 to 1973. Billy Donovan in Florida became sixth with consecutive wins in 2006 and 2007.

Krzyzewski’s success in March Madness isn’t just measured by the Five Rings. His 12 Final Four appearances are tied with Wooden for most of all coaches and his 97 tournament wins alone are the most important – rival UNC coach Roy Williams is second at 79.

And Krzyzewski continued this tournament success in conference. He won 15 ACC tournaments during his career to go along with the 12 ACC regular season titles he has racked up.

3 Coach of the Year honors at Naismith College

With all the victories, national championships, and various accomplishments, it’s no surprise that Krzyzewski has plenty of individual gear to recognize his successes.

He has been named Naismith College Coach of the Year three times, the highest honor bestowed on NCAA Division I coaches. Krzyzewski received the honors in 1989, 1992 and 1999.

John Calipari is the only other men’s coach with three, winning one in 1996 with UMass, 2008 with Memphis and 2015 with Kentucky. Auriemma has won the Women’s Coach title eight times, Summit has won it five times, and Muffet McGraw and VanDerveer have each won it three times.

Krzyzewski also won other coaching honors. He is the 1986 UPI Coach of the Year winner, the 1991 National Association of Basketball Coaches Coach of the Year winner, the 2004 Clair Coach of the Year winner Bee and the five-time ACC Coach of the Year winner. He was named top coach of the conference in 1984, 1986, 1997, 1999 and 2000. He was also named sports news coach of the year in 1992.

72 NBA players

When top high school rookies review college options for basketball, one of the first things they look at is whether a program is developing NBA talent. Under Krzyzewski at Duke, there were few programs that compared to each other.

Since taking office in 1980, 72 players who wore a Blue Devils uniform have continued to play in the NBA. Of those 72, 28 have appeared in NBA games this season.

And how good were these players? Collectively, they have averaged 24 minutes per game over their careers while posting game averages of 10.5 points, 4.2 rebounds and 2.2 assists.

Grant Hill, Elton Brand, Kyrie Irving, Jayson Tatum, Brandon Ingram, Zion Williamson, JJ Redick, Jabari Parker and many more have gone through Durham and Krzyzewski’s coaching to reach the NBA floors.

ApkGeo News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *