CDC eases travel recommendations in 61 countries, including Japan

CDC eases travel recommendations in 61 countries, including Japan

A man pushes his luggage at the departures level of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) on May 27, 2021 in Los Angeles as people travel for Memorial Day weekend, which marks the unofficial start of the season summer trips.

Frédéric J. Brown | AFP | Getty Images

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has relaxed its travel recommendations for 61 countries, including Japan, from its highest rating of “level 4” which had discouraged all travel to recommending travel for people. fully vaccinated, the agency confirmed on Tuesday.

The new notes, which had not been reported and previously posted on a CDC website on Monday, lower 61 countries to “level 3”, including France, South Africa, Canada, Mexico, Russia, Spain and Italy. A US State Department official said he was revising his travel advisory to reflect the CDC’s changes.

The CDC said the change comes after reviewing its criteria for travel health advisories. The CDC said it had also revised its rating for the United States to “level 3” instead of “level 4”.

On May 24, the State Department urged not to travel to Japan, citing a new wave of coronavirus cases before the start of the Tokyo Olympics on July 23.

The CDC said the new criteria for a Level 4 recommendation “avoid all travel” has been increased from 100 cases per 100,000 to 500 cases per 100,000. The CDC added that many countries have lower scores “because of the changes in criteria or because their epidemics are better controlled “. The CDC added that it expects more countries to score lower.

Other countries downgraded to “level 3” include Honduras, Indonesia, Jordan, Libya, Panama, Poland, Denmark and Malaysia.

Many countries that now have lower ratings remain on the U.S. government’s list of countries with severe travel restrictions – and most have been restricted since early 2020.

The United States prohibits almost all non-American citizens who have been to China, the United Kingdom, Ireland, India, South Africa, Brazil, Iran and the 26 Schengen countries of Europe from not control their borders during the previous 14 days.

ApkGeo News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *